Amber Cassidy

This is Amber Cassidy, a Brighton-based illustrator in her final year of education. ‘I’ve been lucky enough to be taught by a handful of very talented illustrators,’ Amber tells us, ‘including the fabulous Alan Baker at Northbrook College. It’s an unconventional route in to an illustration career – it’s a not a degree course – but nonetheless I love it.’

Amber also loves floral dresses, folk and fun times…and deer (‘so cute!’)

Read on to find out more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

Amber's favourite piece of work, Sea Levels

I’m just about to take my first scary steps into the world of freelance illustration. I’m terrified but also really excited. I like old furniture and teacups, reading and growing things and having a good rummage through flea markets. I am quite nice, I think!

What are your inspirations?

Well, I spend a lot of my time in my head and enjoy life’s simple pleasures. I think my work reflects that. I also care a lot about the way we treat the world.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

Ah, I’m fickle…but I think Sea Levels is my favourite. It’s about sea levels rising as the population grows, and how the resulting shrinking landmass is going to be a big problem for us and future generations.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I’m not very good at choosing favourites!

I recently discovered a lovely children’s picture book called Owls See Clearly At Night by Julie Flett which I really like. And my friend Seiko Kato produces beautiful work.

Amber’s website is coming soon, so for the time being check out her fan page and Tweet her: @Amber_Cassidy.

All images © Amber Cassidy. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “Amber Cassidy”

Leave a Reply

