Guy Raimes

This is 23-year-old Guy Raimes, a Leeds-based graphic designer. He is also very into his music. ‘I’m a live music obsessive,’ he says. ‘I can often be found frequenting one of the many lovely venues in Leeds, with a pint of wheat beer.’ We’ll drink to that!

Guy also plays music, and plays the drums in his band Deadwall as well as the guitar. He’s sporty, and when not watching football on the TV, he will probably be watching Mad Men or Life On Mars. ‘I’m a bit obsessed with them,’ he admits.

Read on to find out more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I was born and raised in East Yorkshire. I graduated from Northumbria  University in July where I studied a BA(Hons) in Graphic Design, good times, good people. I have been very fortunate  since I graduated having done placements and am now Junior Designer as Thompson Brand Partners in Leeds. I also am a keen musician and play drums/ a plethora of percussive instruments in the band Deadwall. I am a massive football fan and follow the black and amber army of Hull City.

What are your inspirations?

More and more now I find my inspirations coming from the internet, and typically design blogs. I still always read the usual design publications (Design Week, Creative Review etc) but find them a bit stale. I just got my hands on the new issue of Grafik though and it’s superb, that always gets me inspired. Other than that I guess I find inspiration from friends, family, my dog, and of course music. Design is something I do 5 days a week, which I love and am incredibly fortunate to do as a job so I find being able to be creative outside of work too, through playing in a band is really fulfilling. I think the best kind of inspiration comes when you are not actively seeking it.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I wouldn’t say that I necessarily have a favourite piece of work. Every project that I do means something different to me for various reasons. Each project I did at Uni felt like a learning curve in someway. But in terms of enjoyment I would say a project I did based on a field trip to Barcelona. It gave me a chance to really define a graphic style that I wanted and I felt the end result reflected ‘my style’, it came at a good time as I was at the mid point in my degree, it gave me a lot of enjoyment and confidence to take into my final year.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

It’s tough to narrow it down to an individual, but I would have to say Otl Aicher. Every time I look at any of his work for the ’72 Munich Olympics I feel truly inspired. That, for my personally, is a close as you get to perfect design.

Visit Guy’s website here, read his blog and follow his Twitter: @GRaimes.

All images © Guy Raimes. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

