Krupa Mistry

Meet 22-year-old (‘but I look like I’m 14!’) Krupa Mistry, a designer and student from Manchester. She is a music obssessive: ‘if you see me without my iPod, I must be feeling ill,’ she says.

Krupa hates scary films as they give her nightmares (us too), and owns ‘too many clothes, too many shoes and too much jewellery!’ She has a ‘healthy’ obssession with David Beckham – read on to find out about her Beckham-related aim for the future…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

Hey! I’m currently I’m in my final year studying Design & Art Direction at Manchester Metropolitan University only a few months left till I’m out in the real world! (Scary!) I work best when I’m let loose on a brief which then leads to too many ideas but having too many ideas is never a bad thing. I love creating typography out of random objects and creating patterns out of everyday objects. My aim for the future is to go seduce and marry David Beckham…if I fail? My backup plan is to work in the graphic design industry, focusing on logo design/corporate identity/branding.

What are your inspirations?

I guess I’m inspired by everything around me – people, music, films, magazines, all these and everyday things help my visual thinking!  I’m also inspired by many different graphic designers and artists.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I think the piece I love is a piece I have worked on recently, a zine which is based around the word static called Take A Closer Look. Inside is full of everyday objects shown in a different light. One side was colour and the other side black and white to show how colour can effect images. I really enjoyed the exploration and creating patterns out of everyday objects and making them beautiful.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

My number one inspiration at the moment is Marian Bantjes. I love how she can make patterns out of anything and then uses the same elements to create type. Her work is also bright and colourful which I try to bring to my own work.

Visit Krupa’s website to see further examples of her work, and read her blog here. Tweet her to find out more: @KrupaNMistry.

All images © Krupa Mistry. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

