Phoebe Kirk

This is Phoebe Kirk, who is in her final year at university and about to venture into the world of freelance illustration.

When not illustrating, Phoebe loves nothing more than exploring the streets of Brighton. ‘I love to roam around, meeting with friends on the beach, or popping into Irregular Choice – just for a look!’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I like to draw lovely women with sharp pencils and Copic ciao pens. I am currently undertaking several projects to get my work passed seen, my fellow illustrators and I shall be at the New Designer’s Awards in Islington in July and taking part in several exhibitions in Brighton where I live, (details will be posted on my blog).

What are your inspirations?

I have always had a fascination with proportion and grace in the human body, particularly in the female form. I like to browse ModelMayhem.com for beautiful poses or hand positions to influence me in my work. Though at the moment I’m trying to get into the habit of drawing more animals to get my confidence and ability to a higher level. Looking at my friend’s work and going to exhibitions gives me the drive to get passionate about creating a piece of work to feel proud of.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favourite piece of work I’ve produced is my James and the Giant Peach book jacket competition entry for Penguin publishing. I spent ages doing the paper-cut out of black card first, (destroying my hands in the process!) before running it through PhotoShop to add the text and the background colours. I’m pleased with this because it was one of the first things I’ve looked at and thought, ‘yeah, that looks professional, I could see it in print’.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

My favourite artist is the wonderful James Jean. Every piece of work he produces fills me with awe, his technique and the characters he creates are stunning. One of my local Pubs sells prints of his work and I always find myself gazing longingly at them over my strawberry cider. My goal for the next couple of months is to own at least one of his prints.

Visit Phoebe’s blog, check out her FB fanpage and Tweet her: @PhoebeKirk.

All images Β© Phoebe Kirk. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “Phoebe Kirk”

Leave a Reply

