Joanne Hawker

Say a big hello to graphic designer Joanne Hawker. ‘I’m 23-years-old,’ she says. ‘But when asked it usually takes me a while to remember – which is probably not a good sign!’

Joanne recently graduated from the University of Wales Institute, Cardiff, where she studied Graphic Communication. Now that she has finished her studies, she has rather itchy feet. ‘I really want to go travelling,’ she explains. ‘Somewhere like New Zealand would be amazing. So if anyone wants to give me a lovely graphic job out there, please do get in touch!’

Joanne likes the sea, the countryside, tea (and lots of it, obv), and ‘pretty things from Accessorize’. She is not so keen on big cities, driving (‘super scary’) and coffee. Read on to find out more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am a graphic designer from the West Country who loves nothing more than drawing, drinking tea, blogging and watching the little birds from outside of my window. Given the chance I will purchase almost anything with a bird or woodland creature on it… especially owls. I want to be an owl…

I knew from a young age that I wanted to do something creative. I was always making something or drawing.  My mother would always encourage it, one of the best presents she got me was Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtle bath pens and a subscription to the amazing kids’ art magazine Art Magic. Things just went from there. I don’t know any different and there is nothing I would rather do!

What are your inspirations?

Everything! Everywhere you look there is something that could spark off the next idea. Just outside my window there are a variety of birds scoffing down the many seeds from the hundreds of feeders in my garden. Now that I think about it, nature itself is quite a big inspiration to me as my latest obsession is woodland creatures.

I also find the creative community really inspiring. I follow lots of creatives on Twitter and feature many of them on my blog. In the process I tend to discover many illustration styles or themes that I have not yet come across and in an instant that can spark up the next crazy idea!

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

Without a doubt it has to be my Christmas Bird Project. For the Christmas just gone I wanted to make cards with bit of a difference. For one they were going to have my C.V. enclosed to send out to various companies in Bristol and Bath but secondly they had to benefit the birds. Each card came with a small packet of seeds with the hope that the recipient maybe encouraged to feed the birds through the harsh winter months. On the reverse of the packets is a small list which informs the viewer of other foods or left overs they can give to the birds without costing them any money.

Who is your favourite creative in your chosen field?

Oh no, you can’t ask me that! Choose one? I guess judging from my book collection and my other obsession with monsters it has to be someone like Jon Burgerman or Zeptonn. But there are soooo many others.

Check out more of Joanne’s work here, read her blog OrigamiChicken and follow her on Twitter: @JoanneHawker.

All images © Joanne Hawker. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

2 thoughts on “Joanne Hawker”

Leave a Reply

