Lana Steel

This is Lana Steel, a 21-year-old illustrator from Dumfries in SW Scotland.

Illustration aside, Lana loves blogging, preferably ‘whilst drinking coffee with a slice of cake!’ She loves watching Ally McBeal, riding her bicycle, and has a goldfish named Shark Bait, who is nearly three years old (we are slightly in awe – our goldfish tended to never live much past three months, let alone three years). She loves elephants – hence the name of her blog – and ‘I have a large collection of them, which decorate my flat. But not in a weird way…I hope.’.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am currently studying ‘Textile and Fashion Design Management’ at Heriot Watt University which I absolutely love! I also have a HND in Illustration which I completed in Edinburgh and have also studied Graphic Design. I get excited about everything creative! (which is probably why I have studied different subjects…) I have decided to stay on for my honours year next term in the hope that I will decide what I want to do in the long term.

I illustrate lots of different things but particularly like fashion and beautiful birds. I like to use mixed media including cut paper and inks. I like to include patterns, florals and experiment all the time with different approaches. I am not sure if I have a set style as I am always developing but think I am coming close to creating a signature.

What are your inspirations?

I am an illustration geek! Even though I have gone on to develop my creative management skills I will always come back to illustration! (Even if it is just a hobby) I love fashion illustration, which combines my two main passions, everything beautiful inspires me, I have multiple folders crammed full of downloaded images and corners of my flat with piles of magazines that I use for inspiration, I look to everything from fine art to interior design. I have been lucky as through my studies I have experienced different approaches to creativity and like to combine all that I have learned.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

My favourite pieces are always my most recent as I try to improve every time. So at the moment I suppose my favourite would be the portrait I developed of a woman with a floral headdress. She is developed with fine liner pen and bleeding ink the colour was added on Photoshop. I went for ‘dreamy but with a powerful attitude!’

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

My favourite illustrator is Catherine Campbell. I came across her on one of my many rakes through the internet! She is based in Melbourne Australia she has developed many images which showcase a beautiful woman alongside pattern, floral and imagery that tells a small story. Her work is mixed media including ink, collage and paper cutting and as a result creates striking images!

Keep up-to-date with Lana’s work by reading her blog, and follow her on Twitter: the rather lovely-named @ElephantPaws.

All images © Lana Steel. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

