Finnian MacManus

This is 16-year-old Finnian MacManus, a self-taught graphic artist and designer from Chicago.

Finnian loves to read sci-fi, is a bit of a Food Channel addict and enjoys playing Blues piano. ‘I first got interested in art when I was very young,’ he says. ‘I used to draw spaceships and epic battles with my dad. When I got my first copy of Photoshop a year and a half ago, I just let myself loose…’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I use Photoshop, Vue, Cinema 4D, and other 3D programs to create my pieces. My personal goal at this time is to create industry quality work, and to have fun while I’m doing it. At the moment I am a member of several online Art Collectives, consisting of Heartsurge, The Luminarium and Cosmosys. These groups have helped me grow as an artist, and working with them is still one of my greatest pleasures.

This summer I plan on incorporating digital painting into my style, so that I can always follow my concepts through and finish any piece I set out to make. For college, I am hoping to get in to the Interactive Media program at University of Southern California, and then to study at Gnomon School of Visual Effects after USC.

What are your inspirations?

Exoterra

My personal inspirations for my current style consist of a variety of Concept Artists, but probably the one person who has influenced me the most is Steve Burg. Browsing through sites like DeviantArt and Shadowness occasionally give me inspiration, but most of what I do comes on its own, probably through taking in all the inspiration around me on a daily basis.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

My favorite piece that I’ve worked on right now is called Exoterra, as it is the first piece that I’ve felt satisfied with. Before Exoterra, I didn’t feel original, I didn’t feel that my style was me… but after Exoterra, that all changed. Now I am confident with my work and I know what I need to do to improve it.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

My favorite artist in terms of painting would be Caravaggio, because of his amazing contrast between the dark and light. Caravaggio uses negative space and darkness to highlight detail in his pieces- this is a style that I would like to incorporate into my own as time goes on. My favorite digital artist at the moment is Rafael Sarmento, who has the most amazing conceptual illustrations I’ve ever seen.

Have a look at Finnian’s DeviantArt portfolio here, view his Shadowness profile and have a look at his website.

All images © Finnian MacManus. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

