Jo Cheung

Jo Cheung is an illustrator from Doncaster who moved to London to study illustration. Since then she’s been involved with a group exhibition called Sorted, was part of Amelia’s Compendium of Fashion Illustration and is now doing a collaborative project with illustrator Erica Williams (who just so happens to live in America).

She likes making images of animals with rosy cheeks and has a slight obsession with dogs.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I moved to London to study illustration at the University of Westminster and graduated in 2009. Since then I’ve been a freelance illustrator and working part-time as an ABA Tutor (a tutor for children with ASD.) I’ve always wanted to work with children and somehow combine the arts, so this was a natural progression for me.

I would love to make images as a living but right now it’s not really practical and I’m totally happy being an ABA Tutor, so continuing with illustration at the side. Anyway it’s the only time I can sing Hokey Cokey and Baa Baa Black Sheep (part of the job of course!)

My work is often about animals and wild landscapes in a sort of dream state. I often portray an idealistic world full of shapes and stars floating about in the sky.

I was listed on Wallpaper* magazine’s 2010 Graduate Directory and clients include Junkie Lovers, Gia London and MacUser magazine.

I’m hoping to try and do a bit of traveling later in the year because it’s something I’ve dreamed of for a very long time. I’ve said this so many times but I’m going to do it!

What are your inspirations?

Wild life, landscape photography, dreams, music, books, conversations, funny looking animals , people and places.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

I submitted an illustration for Blanket magazine’s Landscape issue and it ended up on the front cover and I was also featured in the magazine! I was dead chuffed. It was that illustration which took me in a different direction in terms of style and I’ve learnt to grow and develop as an artist.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

There are so many illustrator’s I admire such as Deanne Cheuk, Stina Persson, Nina Chakrabarti…. oh I could go on.

View Jo’s website here, visit her Etsy and Tweet her: @JoCheung.

All images © Jo Cheung. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

2 thoughts on “Jo Cheung”

Leave a Reply

