Gareth Roberts

Meet Gareth Roberts, an illustrator and director living in London who counts old-school horror movies, childhood memories and ‘the scenic route’ amongst his inspirations. Intrigued? Read on…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’ve been working as a freelance illustrator since leaving Higher Education over a year ago and have now started working in moving image and direction over the past few months. I believe that coming from my illustration background (I studied Graphic Design and Illustration at university) it’s helped me find my aesthetic within film, my love for surreal, dark, folktale and folk art based imagery has slowly bled into my moving image work over time.

What are your inspirations?

Here’s a quick list : old B Horror movies, Lon Chaney, folk tales and folklore, the scenic route to the destination and my childhood memories seep in to my day-to-day thoughts.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

To date so far it has to be the video I just directed for Felix Fables. The idea came from a set of drawings that I had in my sketchbook based around the simple idea of using hands as a grid… A few days later I had a dream about many hands attacking me in a factory, almost trying to bond with me… there were floating eyes moving and watching me in this big dark room. It felt very strange. I woke up, documented it and then took the idea to the band as the mood just seemed to fit the slow build up in the song. I worked with make-up artist Amanda O’Shaughnessy it was a quick simple and shoot actually. very minimal lighting and set but it was a great step in a new direction! I can’t wait to move onto the next project!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I have a great love for Michel Gondry’s work, his music videos and his films. The way he approaches projects seems to resonate with me, his love of trying to use as little CGI as possible and create the effects by camera tricks and illusion. I think that’s a great attitude to have!

Read Gareth’s blog and see more of his work; also follow him on Twitter – @geeroberts.

All images © Gareth Roberts. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

