Rebecca Abell

Meet illustrator Rebecca Abell.

When not drawing – or drinking tea –  Rebecca enjoys travelling – ‘I think it’s a good, healthy thing to do as a creative. It helps inspire me, and I love learning about different cultures and gaining new experiences!’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I recently graduated from Birmingham Institute of Art and Design with a First Class BA (Hons) in Illustration and also announced winner of a Visual Communication ‘Dave Award’ 2011. I have an obsession with pencils and my time at University has helped me develop and acquire a style that is very delicate, using pencil combined with digital colour to create my illustrations.

I have recently moved to London to undertake my placement at the AOI (association of illustrators) and I’m taking inspiration from this new experience to form ideas for some new projects!

What are your inspirations?

Inspiration comes from various sources. My main focus is fashion illustration, so I constantly collect attractive images of seasonal theme/trends from magazines and fashion blogs to keep my work current. I also collect scraps of interesting fabrics and cuttings from magazines/newspapers to provide me with ideas for concepts and inspiration for colour palettes and patterns.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favourite piece of work has to be my Pardon My English series I created for part of my 3rd year major project at university. I felt I really grasped the concept and produced some really pleasing outcomes that I am very proud of.

Who is your favourite creative in your chosen field?

I have a lot of admiration for a few particular illustrators, all with different styles, but whom I appreciate comparably. My favourites consist of, Esra Roise; Artaksiniya; Raphael Vicenzi; Garance Dore; David Downton and Montse Bernal, to name a few. These illustrators produce very figurative based work and were huge influences to my own work throughout my third year at university.

View Rebecca’s tumblr and website, and Tweet her: @rebeccaabell.

All images © Rebecca Abell. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “Rebecca Abell”

Leave a Reply

