Alicia Rose

Meet Alicia Rose. Today is her 24th birthday.

Lingerie lady Alicia has a way with making undies look supremely fashionable. She is also ‘seriously obsessed’ with hot air balloons and her dream is to go to NYC to do an internship in the industry and see how pieces are made from scratch.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I studied BA Fashion Design at the London College of Fashion, and also did a course in Corsetry and Structured Lingerie Construction.

What are your inspirations?

I am inspired a lot by the author Angela Carter and in particular her collection of short stories The Bloody Chamber. I guess it’s quite strange for a designer to be inspired by words rather than images, but I use my imagination a lot to create my work and I guess a fewΒ  references to other outside sources that are tucked away at the back of my brain that I forgot about. Angela Carter’s stories are quite dark and twisted, and I’ve always said I like Halloween more than Christmas so perhaps I’m a goth at heart!

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favourite piece that’s available to buy is my Sweet Cheeks embroidered organic knickers. They are meant to be a reference to old retro slang like ‘Doll face’ and ‘Baby cake’, but I only realised the irony of ‘Cheeks’ on a pair of knickers after I made them. See, I like things to have a little unexpected twist like that.

My other favourite piece is actually still a work in progress. It’s a sample for my new lingerie collection. Black embroidery/flossing on sheer silk. Seriously I am so in love with it, I’m very proud of myself and so excited to see what the collection will turn out like.

Who is your favourite creative in your chosen field?

My favourite lingerie designer is Jean Yu, seriously the pieces are exceptionally made, it’s like couture lingerie. All raw edges and bias cut see through chiffon, just my kind of thing.

Visit Alicia’s website and find out more here; Tweet her @IAmAlicia Rose.

All designs Β© Alicia Rose. To view the designs in closer detail, click on them.

One thought on “Alicia Rose”

Leave a Reply

