Natasha Nicole Waddon

Meet 23-year-old artist and illustrator Natasha Nicole Waddon, originally from Wales but currently living in Brighton.

Natasha is a ‘premature old cat lady’, who is in possession of ‘more books than common sense’. Is that possible?

She collects anything with an owl on it, and is a big fan of baking cakes. And, naturally, devouring said cakes. Yum…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m a Fine Arts graduate turned illustrator. I drink copious amounts of tea, love baking cakes and can probably be found with my head in a book. After spending my time at university making small dioramas of made up worlds with written narratives I became slightly obsessed with storytelling and anything whimsical where I found illustration to be my best outlet. Now I create detailed drawings of intricate patterns and fashion illustrations based on everything I see and love in daily life. Everything I create begins hand drawn, and quite often, stays that way.

What inspires you?

My inspiration comes from daily life. I love all aspects of art, design and architecture and collect and hoard tonnes of magazines and images of models, patterns, shapes and colours to influence my drawings. I have a bit of a visual obsession and work best when surrounded by pictures. Image overload!

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favourite work is one of my more recent ones, Girl in the Polka Dot Dress, just because, having completed a degree learning traditional techniques in art, this is one of the pictures where I’m teaching myself how to use computer editing and other types of gadgetry that I’m unfamiliar with. Also, she’s a pretty lady and who doesn’t love pretty ladies.

Who is your favourite creative in your chosen field?

It’s really hard for me to pick a favourite artist when I love so many across fields of illustration, design, installation art and sculpture. However one of my favourite painters is Ged Quinn. He creates images steeped in romanticism with lots of hidden signs and symbols to create a story. One of his paintings, True Peace Will Prevail, shows how he can create little worlds within worlds, which appeals to my romantic whimsical side.

Visit Natasha’s website here. Read her blog and Tweet her: @GeeksDigMe.

All images © Natasha Nicole Waddon. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

