d-kaur

Meet Dalbir Kaur, a.k.a d-kaur.

She is currently in her third year at Birmingham Art and Design Institution, where she is studying Graphic Design.

Aside from continuing her artwork, d-kaur would love to travel. ‘I’d also love to go horse-riding,’ she says. ‘I think horses are incredibly beautiful… but I’m also scared stiff of them and end up running away whenever I’m near one!’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

My name is Dalbir Kaur – known as d-kaur – and I’m currently in my third year studying Graphic Design at Birmingham Art and Design Institution. I became interested in photography back in 2008 where it started out with me taking pictures on my mobile phone camera. Since then I now pretty much take my DSLR everywhere with me and within my community I’m known as the ‘ girl with the big camera’  I’ve been married for a year and I have a – job as a Auxiliary Nurse at a local hospital. I really enjoy my job as I get to interact with different types of people.

What are your inspirations?

Nature is a huge inspiration to me, everything from how the leaves sway in the wind, how the sun glistens on the ground and especially the sea, I love watching waves. I find the different seasons so fascinating, how everything changes and creates a different mood.  I think a lot of my photography reflects this.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I really can’t pick a single piece but I am very proud of my Danbo shots. Danbo is a manga, collectible character which is very fun to photograph. It’s a personal project which is still ongoing where I tell the story of Danbo experiencing his journey in the human world. It’s a challenge to think up new and different situations. My love has definitely grown for little Danbo!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

There is so much talent out there nowadays that it’s hard to pick one creative, however I really enjoy looking at Rankin’s work.  He is a British fashion photographer who has photographed some of Hollywood’s biggest stars, and he has also shot dozens of big campaigns.  Even though his style is completely different to mine, I really enjoy his work, he captures is subject in such a way that their personalities come bouncing off the page. Another photographer who is a huge inspiration is Michael Freeman, his work comes from another world. The way he captures the light is just so magical.

Visit d-kaur’s blog and Flickr stream, and say hello on Twitter: @d-kaur.

All images © d-kaur. To view them in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “d-kaur”

Leave a Reply

