Hope Myers

Say ‘bonjour’ to Hope Myers, an illustrator who recently graduated from the Maryland Institute College of Art with a Bachelors degree (and a minor in Creative Writing).

Hope is currently working with the DNA Theatre company in Baltimore. ‘I work on set design as well as concepts for their upcoming shows,’ she says. When not working, she loves swimming (‘something I have done since I was a child’, is ‘obsessed’ with plants and also likes to collect sea glass whenever she goes to the beach. ‘Maybe one day it will become something,’ she says. ‘But for now, it just looks really pretty.’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am the kind of person who can not choose between the things she loves. My hope isΒ  to one day be working on set designs for a theater show, while working on my own children’s book and at the same time canning my own line of jams. For now I will settle with adding to my extensive collection of paper every time I go to the art store.

What are your inspirations?

My inspirations come from many things including books, photography, trees, random things I hear while riding the subway home from work, the movement of light on objects, the little kids I work with…

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

This is a hard question. I am proud of all my work for different reasons. But I would have to say that my Summer Tree is my favorite piece. Mainly because summer is my favorite season – I love the weather and the general atmosphere. I did the piece right as the seasons where starting to change to fall as in homage to my memories of summers past. I also spent this past summer learning to use my tablet and this is the first piece I felt I had finally grasped the workings of Photoshop and I am proud of it.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

This is a list that maybe longer the my inspirations list. However currently I am obsessed with the simple but powerful work of Pascal Campion.

Visit Hope’s website and read her blog, Work and Doodles. Tweet her: @Hope_M_Myers.

All images Β© Hope Myers. To view them in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

