Hannah Latham

Meet Hannah Latham, a 23-year-old designer based in Manchester.

Hannah loves skiing, ‘but mainly for the croque-monsieurs fondue and hot chocolate between the actual skiing. Don’t tell my boyfriend – he’s a ski instructor and wouldn’t approve!’

Hannah’s cat sleeps on her head (‘like a furry hat’) and her favourite time of the year is winter because she can wear woolly things (and her cat).

Read on…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I graduated from the University of Huddersfield with a Textile Design degree in 2010. I currently work as a towel and bed linen designer by day, but explore my own design projects by night. During those evenings you’ll find me sat at my makeshift desk (my Gran’s old G-Plan coffee table with cushion on the floor), with my little cat Pip. It’s a wonder I ever get anything done, what with her attempting to sabotage my work by chasing the mouse curser and jumping on the keyboard. In between Pip’s mad moments, I work on a range of goodies, from pattern and card design to home textiles and illustration, with a core focus on charming and playful visual content and trend-led, carefully considered colour palettes.

What are your inspirations?

I’m inspired by animals, antiques, Scandinavian pattern and product design, vintage fabrics and wallpapers, old photographs, childhood memories, everyday objects, food and embroidery. So yeah, pretty much anything I take a fancy to!

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

My favourite piece changes constantly. Generally it’s my most recent piece or whatever I’m working on, so my Christmas cards are at number one for now. The piece I’m most attached to is one I made at school, when I was about 15. It’s hand dyed cotton with heavy machine and hand embroidery, based on bacteria under a microscope. It’s not the prettiest but I loved every minute (it took a LONG time) and me realise that textile design was the job for me.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

It’s tricky to pin point one particular textile designer, there are far too many brilliant people to choose from. I suppose as far as iconic designers go, I really admire the work of Lucienne Day, Celia Birtwell and always love looking through Liberty’s vast collection. I’ve also love stumbling across the work of super talented folk on Twitter and blogs. There are far too many to mention, I probably have a new favourite every day!

Visit Hannah’s Tumblr and Etsy, and say hello on Twitter: @HannahMayLatham.

All images © Hannah Latham. To view them in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “Hannah Latham”

Leave a Reply

