Michelle Last

Say hello to illustrator Michelle Last.

‘I read, draw, collect cameras and take photos,’ says Michelle. ‘And I dress like a granny.’ She also has an ‘unhealthy’ obsession with novelty jumpers and drinking tea. If anyone knows of a teapot-patterned jumper, let Michelle know…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I read, draw, collect cameras, take photos, and dress like a granny. I have an unhealthy obsession with novelty jumpers and drinking tea. I graduated with a ba in graphic design and illustration from de montfort university in 2008, and have been trying to make it with my work ever since. Next year a children’s poetry book which I illustrated called Down the Plughole a collaboration with writer Fiona Murphy, is going to be published, and I can’t wait! I’m also planning on working on my own children’s books in the future, it’s all very exciting.

What are your inspirations?

Anything and everything – I can get an idea in the middle of the night, first thing in the morning, listening to music, looking at other illustrators’ work…

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

My Knight in Shining Armour – I’d never drawn anything like that before and was very satisfied with the result – and I also loved pairing fun type with the image. It’s a fun illustration.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I have a lot – many illustrators inspire me, but three of my absolute favourites are Tomi Ungerer, Lisen Adbåge and Edward Gorey.

Visit Michelle’s website, read her blog and follow her on Twitter: @Michelle_Last.

All images © Michelle Last. To view them in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “Michelle Last”

Leave a Reply

