Sara Ligari

Meet Sara Ligari, a 23-year-old fashion designer living in Milan (jealous, us…?)

Sara graduated in fashion design from Politecnico di Milano last year. ‘I am currently working on developing a line of t-shirts with prints of my drawing,’ she says. ‘The line will be named Suzie Blues.’

When she was younger, Sara played bass in a rock band. ‘But I found that music was not my way, and I started drawing…’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I love cooking and eating ethnic food, reading, travelling and I’m extremely messy. I have liked drawing since I was a kid, but I only started using watercolours a few years ago. Since then I have discovered a new  way to express myself and I have certainly fallen in love with it.

I always experiment using ink, pen, different papers or adding pattern with Photoshop. Faces and hands are my favourite subject and I’d like to improve my technique by taking a life-drawing class when I have more free time.

What are your inspirations?

My main inspiration is fashion. I do not care too much for the dress itself, but instead the atmosphere it creates, and mostly the beauty of the feminine body. For this reason, I’m often inspiring from fashion photography. Art and nature are also important inspirations for me.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

Generally, I love my last work for a day, then I don’t like it anymore and I try to do something different! However, I’m proud of Chameleon (left) because it expresses a very natural kind of beauty. I consider it as a fashion illustration without any fashion cloth.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I love Stina Persson – her style changed my point of view about illustration. Also, Laura Lain really inspires me.  In the arts world, I like Frida Kahlo.

Visit Sara’s website and Facebook page, and have a look at her Tumblr.

All images © Sara Ligari. To view them in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

