Sarah Austin

Meet Sarah Austin (on the left here), an illustration graduate from the University of Lincoln (class of 2011), currently living in Suffolk.

Illustration aside, Sarah also loves making her own jewellery. ‘I like anything patterned or handmade,’ she says.

Crafty-ness aside, Sarah also loves M&Ms, and hates peas.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m a recent Illustration BA graduate form the University of Lincoln, currently living in Suffolk.

I’ve always loved to draw and Art was my favourite school subject. I have completed both a National Diploma Art and Design course at Suffolk College and earlier this year I graduated from the University of Lincoln with an Illustration BA Honours Degree.

During my second year of university I experimented with producing hand-stitched, textile illustrations and found that it was something I really enjoyed it. However, they took a while to create and made meeting project deadlines difficult so I decided to try a different method and scanned in the fabrics instead, drawing on the stitching to make the images appear as though they had been handmade. I really enjoy working in this way and hope to continue to develop it.

What are your inspirations?

It can come from anywhere like a greetings card design, pattern, a  piece of jewelry or an image from a book. When I’m in Waterstones I like to flip through the Illustration and Art books for inspiration and take note of anything I find interesting. Anything stitched or handmade immediately grabs my attention.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I’m pretty pleased with my Fables Children’s book spreads from my degree show. They were a fun challenge as I’d never done a full double page spread before and I had to re-phrase some of the original stories to make them more suitable for a young audience. Some were a bit dark and sad in places.

I also really like the way my portrait pictures turned out. I really enjoyed doing them and it’s an idea I’d like to continue with.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

There are a few. I really like Laura McCafferty’s works with her mix of textiles and print. I also love that she creates bespoke pieces for customers by using things that they send in, making it very personal and special for them.

Visit Sarah’s blog and Tweet her: @xxxsarsxxx.

All images © Sarah Austin. To view them in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “Sarah Austin”

Leave a Reply

