Chris Hood

Meet 23-year-old Chris Hood, a freelance graphic designer, illustrator and print-maker from Leeds.

‘I like visiting and exploring new places, and photographing old signs,’ says Chris. Another passion includes ‘making a racket’ in his band, and he cooks a rather mean fry-up. Yum…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I produce work under the name Things on Fire. I completed a BA in Graphic Design, Illustration & Digital Media from Bradford College last summer.

I like tea in the morning and coffee in the afternoon. My favourite alcoholic beverage would be a good ale or porter – although I am partial to a good whisky…

What are your inspirations?

I’m inspired by wit and humour as much as I am by things that are visually pleasing. I’m also inspired by limitations, usually due to lack of funds, which often force people to work more creatively.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

It’s tough to pick favourites of my own work, because I quite like them all in their different ways, but I’m quite proud of my gig poster for Belleville. I’ve made gig posters for fun before, but this was the first one I got paid to make, and I think it turned out quite well.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I have a huge list of creative people I admire, both past and present and in a variety of fields, but I find people doing current work in my home city of Leeds like Army of Cats (Graham Pilling) and TwoDuckDisco (Cameron Steward) very inspiring, as well as Telegramme Studio in London.

View Chris’ portfolio here, ‘like’ him here and say hello on Twitter: @ThingsOnFire.

All images © Chris Hood. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “Chris Hood”

Leave a Reply

