Leah Durant

Meet photographer Leah Durant.

The recent Fine Art graduate currently lives and works in Leeds, and describes herself as ‘a bit of a dreamer’.

Read on to find out more…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

Apart from being a hermit 97% of the time making work and going to work. I enjoy going to places I have never visited before and riding my bike around the block.

I have a strong interest in poetry, old projectors, houses, 1970s music and crystals.

What are your inspirations?

I’d say my main inspiration are things that we come across everyday – for example, things you see when you are walking to the shop or on a train. I always look for interesting patterns and moments that I can quickly photograph or draw.

What is your favorite piece of work you have produced?

I think my favorite piece would have to be my degree show work, entitled Be. It’s a 35mm slide carousel projection of 80 images. The photographs were slightly melancholic – they hopefully allowed the viewer to make assumptions and connections between each piece: a feeling.

Who is your favorite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Tacita Dean is my literal ‘film’ idol. I love how she can create such contemplative atmosphere.

Visit Leah’s blog and Tweet her: @LeahJDurant.

All images © Leah Durant. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

