Matt Lane-Dixon

This is Matt Lane-Dixon, a graphic designer and illustrator currently living and working in Leeds.

‘When not designing, I like exploring with my camera, and documenting abandoned places,’ says Matt. Other hobbies include tea drinking and ‘getting beaten by kids half my age on Call of Duty…’

Read on to find out more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

Since graduating from the University of Leeds in 2010, I’ve been working at various design agencies and freelancing. I’ve also recently started producing zines.

What are your inspirations?

The internet can be a fantastic source of inspiration and while it’s easy to fall into the trap of watching endless cat videos on YouTube, it’s also great for discovering people and work that you would otherwise never have found. Design blogs are great, September Industry and Aisle One being two of my favourites. I’m also inspired by music, I love looking through racks of vinyl in record shops and finding that amazing looking album cover that just makes you want to buy the album. I love exploring and documenting abandoned places; factories, railway lines, buildings etc. Anything printed too, I love tactile graphic design.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

Once a project is complete I always find myself thinking, “I should have done it this way”, I’m very critical of my own work. However, I’ve recently been working with a theatre to create some work for their youth theatre programme and I really like the way the project is turning out. They’ve been great to work with and I’m pretty happy with the work. I’ve also just produced a zine documenting a campaign by the local community to turn an abandoned school into a community centre. The zine turned out really well and hopefully it will raise a bit of awareness for the campaign.

Who is your favourite creative?

I’ve got so many favourite designers and studios it’s hard to pick just one but I love 50’s Swiss Design and designers of that era so I’d have to say Wim Crouwel. The simplicity and purity of his work is amazing. Two of my other favourite designers would have to be german designer Mario Lombardo and american designer Neil Kellerhouse, both who have different styles but are equally great. Finally Experimental Jetset, R&D and Spin constantly amaze and influence me. There’s also plenty of brilliant creative people working in Leeds.

Visit Matt’s website and shop, and follow him: @MLDDesign.

All images Β© Matt Lane-Dixon. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

