Richard Swain

Say a big hello to writer (and pun enthusiast…) Richard Swain.

When not writing scripts or articles, Richard plays the guitar and is an avid gamer. He has been described – ‘by my A2 English Language teacher, no less’ – as ‘that guy who goes to a party and sits in the corner all night drinking Diet Coke. Which,’ adds Richard, ‘sadly is not far from the truth!’

Find out more below.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m currently studying Linguistics at the University of Essex. As well as a deep (and perhaps overly obsessive) interest in language, I also have a passion for writing in all of its various forms. Whether it’s a well-scripted piece of television or a particularly good book, I feel able to appreciate the talents needed to successfully bring such works to life.

Having already undertaken some work experience at my local newspaper, I came to university with an aim to gain as much insight into potential writing careers as possible, and so far I feel I am achieving this. During my first year I was a regular contributor to the Features section of the student newspaper and this year I have been appointed as Deputy Features Editor, a position I am proud to hold. In addition to this, I have written a number of scripts for the university’s student television station, ranging from comedies to dramas – some of which have even been nominated for NaSTA (National Student Television Association) awards, another achievement I hold in high regard.

My writing isn’t just limited to student media, though. I’ve dabbled in short story writing in the past and one of my ambitions is to someday write a novel – I know I have the capability to do so, it’s just a matter of finding the time!

What are your inspirations?

I draw inspiration from many different things – in fact, I’d go as far as to say my mind is always on the go, taking note of everything I experience to see if it can get my creative juices flowing. In this sense I am a huge advocate for promoting creativity and am generally fascinated by what the human imagination allows us to come up with, often using the smallest of sources as a spark of inspiration.

With regards to specific pieces of work that inspire me, I would have to credit Doctor Who for prompting me to pursue my interests in writing (particularly scriptwriting). For someone like me who revels in being able to let my imagination run wild, a show about having the ability to travel anywhere and indeed any-when… well, I couldn’t possibly resist!

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I am proud of all the work I have produced, however if I had to choose one piece that really stands out to me at the moment, it would be The Revolution Beyond – a three-part drama series I have written and am currently producing for the university’s student television station. It’s by far the most ambitious project I have undertaken thus far, and it’s also the most fully-fledged tale I have had the opportunity to write. The entire premise revolves around the wonders of the imagination and bending reality, meaning I have had plenty of chances to spread my creative wings and pen some really interesting scenes!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I wouldn’t necessarily say I have a ‘favourite’ creative per se, however I have certainly been influenced by the works of Russell T Davies (Doctor Who) and Steven Moffat (Doctor Who, Sherlock) in recent years, amongst others. I would also like to give a special mention to German writer/director Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck, specifically for his film Das Leben der Anderen (The Lives of Others). It’s an absolutely incredible piece of cinema and one that is more than worthy of the numerous accolades it has received. I can only hope that one day I might be able to write something as successful – a challenge that I am willing to accept!

See some of Richard’s work here and follow him on Twitter: @RJHSwain.

One thought on “Richard Swain”

Leave a Reply

