Hannah Young

Meet Hannah Young, a photographer and gift-maker from Cheshire.

Snap-happy Hannah is also a big tea fan (‘it takes at least two cups until I am fully functioning in the morning!’ she says) and wants to travel the world and ‘take pictures of everything I see, from the Eiffel Tower to Machu Picchu.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I produce handmade greetings cards using my photographic artwork, and I also create collages using photographs of local areas and apply these collages to products such as placemats, coasters, mugs and canvas tote bags. My products make the perfect gift for anybody who has moved away from an area and they have been sent all over the world, from a little town in Cheshire to Australia, Canada, New Zealand and to soldiers in the Army living away from home, which is amazing!

I have completed a number of courses including an Art Foundation, BTEC Level 3 in Photography. Aswell as building up my business I am currently studying a Foundation Degree in Commercial Photography with the hope of topping this up to a BA (hons)  in a couple of years time.

What are your inspirations?

I am inspired by so many things in my work. When I am taking images personally, I literally snap at anything that catches my eye, from flowers and trees, to lighting fixtures, and grimy city back streets. I love looking at structures, shapes and colour and how they can be formed in different compositions creating abstract images from everyday scenes.

When I create collages for specific areas, I am inspired by the history, old buildings and churches, landmarks, pubs, engravings in stones etc. I like to capture the atmosphere of a town, village or City in one collage.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

One of my favourite images comes from the very beginnings of my love affair with photography! It’s called Trippy and it was taken on my very first digital camera. It was the first time I had tried painting with light. The abstract image is of fairy lights which have been distorted by the movements of the camera.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I don’t particularly have a favourite photographer. Photography is such a part of our life and world today, through social media, mobile phones, on the internet, and in advertising – it’s everywhere around us. I really enjoy looking through images and appreciating photographs for capturing particular moments in time, scenes or events.

Read Hannah’s blog, become a Facebook fan and Tweet her: @HYPhotography.

All images © Hannah Young. To view the photographs in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

