Harri Davison

Meet Harri Davison, a 20-year-old Fashion Promotion student studying in Cardiff.

When Harri was 7, she won a competition on BBC Midlands to present the weather. ‘You had to draw a picture of your best summer holiday,’ she says. ‘My mum only caught on to the ‘best holiday’ part, so I sent in a painting of my holiday to Lapland. I painted a snowman, everyone else had painted a beach – but I ended up winning!’

In the name of fashion Harri once visited a derelict mental asylum in mid Wales to do a photoshoot. ‘It was insanely scary.’ (We see what you did there…) Other passions include travelling, music, discovering new bloggers, and collecting ‘quirky’ magazines.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

My love of art and design developed at a young age. I wouldn’t play with dolls or Barbies but I’d sit at the end of the dining table with a stack of paper, a pot of pens and get lost in my drawings of people. I will always remember being aged 5, in my first year of primary school, when the teacher asked us to paint a picture of what we’d like to be when we’re older. Most of the little girls drew ballerinas or pop stars. I painted a sailor. Why? Simply because I liked the outfit.

This love of drawing never faded and quickly became my passion, and as I grew older I developed a strong ambition to work in the fashion industry.

Fifteen years on from that little girl wanting to be a sailor, I’m now studying my dream degree, Fashion Promotion, which has given me the opportunity to explore my love of fashion illustration through collage.

What are your inspirations?

My inspirations are the people around me – loved ones, friends, even the random people I see on the bus. I’m just fascinated with people, their emotions and the stories behind them. I love my work to have some sort of narrative behind it, whether no one else knows what it is but me, or it may be quite obvious. Every rip, tear and paint splatter has a meaning. Like people you never know what their thinking. I want my work to have this same ambiguity. It’s up to the viewer to decide…

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favourite piece of work I’ve produced is part of my recent set of fashion illustrations. It’s titled Nobody Can Hurt Me, Without My Permission. It’s not necessarily my favourite because I love it, but it’s my favourite because I don’t know if I even like it myself. But to me the image asks questions, makes you think, makes you look twice and that’s what I enjoy when looking at pieces of art myself.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

My favourite illustrator is Raphael Vicenzi. I’ve only recently come across his work and I adore his mixed media work – his interesting combinations of textures and imagery fascinate me.

Visit Harri’s blog and Tweet her: @HarrietRDavison.

All images © Harri Davison. To view the photographs in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

