Murray Somerville

Say hello to 24-year-old illustrator and zine-maker Murray Somerville. His face is covered in melon.

Not permanently, you understand. A melon was dropped on his head as part of the promotion for his zine Melon Shrub 2, which was released last year. ‘This was the aftermath shot!’ he says.

Murray divides his time between ‘drawing, pretending to have a social life and re-playing Pokémon.’ When not throwing Poké balls, Murray also plays in a band, and has a ‘really bad obsession’ with comedians Tim and Eric.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m one half of the illustrator duo Dazeray, alongside Daisy Whitewolf, and am also co-creator of Melon Shrub – a zine enterprise which is currently releasing a six-issue run throughout 2012 titled Macro Shrub. Issue One was released this month.

My recent claims to fame have been having my work as a Beck’s Art Label distributed in the UK and as part of Dazeray being included in the Field Candy Tent Launch.

The main project I’m working on at the moment is Macro Shrub, as producing the sole illustrative content in each zine but making sure it’s of a high standard is taking up a bit of time – but otherwise I’m always busy and prepared to get involved in anything and everything I find!

What are your inspirations?

My inspirations would mainly be cartoons – I love cartoons, always have and always will. Especially ’90’s gems such as Rocko’s Modern Life, Dexter’s Lab, Ren & Stimpy and vintage Simpsons! I do love Spongebob and my recent love has been Adventure Time – that cartoon is insanely addictive! Otherwise I would also say music and sometimes comics.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

Interesting question as like all artists I’m very flippant with my work! I would say I’m very proud of Macro Shrub #1 as being one of the most polished and collected pieces of work I’ve made to date, but A Dinosaur’s Conversation will always remain a proud piece if only because I spent 60 hours or so on it…

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I would say the Elvis Studio are one of my favourites, when I saw examples of their large scale drawings together it really impacted me, it’s basically what inspired me to make A Dinosaur’s Conversation! They’re Swiss so I’m not sure how well known they are in the UK, but I insist on looking out for their book Elvis Road – the level of detail and imagination inside it is staggering!

Visit Murray’s website and blog, and buy Macro Shrub here. Tweet Murray: @MurrayMangoose.

All images © Murray Somerville. To view the photographs in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

