Stacey Williams

Meet 23-year-old Stacey Williams.

When not working, Stacey loves photography, going to gigs and festivals and walking her 8-month-old Border Terrier puppy.

Read on to find out more about her retro inspirations and more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am a full-time teacher of Art and Design at an Academy in Sandwell and part-time creator.

I graduated from Staffordshire University in 2009 with a BA Hons in Fine Art where my work  focused mainly on photography but I dabbled with elements of craft throughout.

I am inspired by nostalgia and all things cool and pretty and create jewellery, illustrations, prints and greetings cards under the name Things and Such.

What are your inspirations?

My main inspirations are everyday items from past, I love old forms of communication such as the typewriter or vintage telephones. I still collect vinyl records and listen to new wave so I think I am definitely stuck in the wrong era! I feel my work reflects this but with a modern revamp.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I think my favourite piece would have to be my typewriter illustration. I adore house clearance stores and vintage markets and I remember my initial inspiration whenever I see it.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I am a huge fan of Robert Rauschenberg. I think his works have given many artists and creators the freedom to explore and amalgamate many materials and techniques and enjoy pieces simply for variety and texture.

Like Stacey on Facebook and visit her shop; Tweet her, too: @EssJayDoubleYou.

All images © Stacey Williams. To view the photographs in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

