Stef Andersson

Meet 22-year-old Stef Andersson, a writer, magazine editor and big-time fashion enthusiast.

Stef created her first magazine at the tender age of four – ‘it consisted of a huge wad of A4 paper from my dad’s printer and an old Littlewoods catalogue,’ she says. ‘I chopped and cut for hours, sticking everything into place using a lot of wise decisions (and Pritt Stick…). It took an entire weekend to finish it.’

Other passions of Stef’s include partying, writing, Tweeting (‘is that classed as a hobby nowadays?’) and trawling through secondhand shops: ‘I have an insane jumper collection,’ she admits. ‘I don’t know what it is but I haven’t stopped buying them for the last two years. My wardrobe kind of looks like I hang about with a granny who gives me advice on what knit to go for…’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I graduated from university with a BA (Hons) in Magazine Journalism, and I don’t think it’s about what you know but who you know. I’m a fierce workaholic – sometimes my schedule runs from 9am until 2am. I’m always extremely busy but I’ve always wanted to work with magazines – I love everything about them and all this is definitely worth it.

In my second year at University I created The Clothes Maiden, which features independent designers from all around the world. I showcase anything and everything – I fall in love with a new label at least six times a day. It started off as just a place to upload all my inspiration and links that I find floating about on the Internet. In my final year of university, the summer of 2011 I created The Clothes Maiden magazine. I travel a lot and for that reason I love reading magazines. I have a very unhealthy obsession with them, I have a stack of Vogue‘s and my favourite copy dates back to the year of 1976.

The Clothes Maiden is an independent bi-monthly magazine: it features quirky labels, I interview emerging fashion designers/fashion illustrators and I feature all kinds of different talent.

I’m also the lifestyle and fashion editor of the British daily online publication, The Upcoming, that’s based in London. I manage 18 talented journalists. We are soon to cover New York Fashion Week, London Fashion Week and also Milan, I’m so excited about this but really stressed out at the same time, so many different emotions.

What inspires your work?

I could sit here all day and make an endless list of things that inspire me, everything does! I’m a very passionate person and I love pretty much everything. I really appreciate designers out there who have their own small businesses. I love and admire young talented artists who try their hardest to get their work noticed in the world. It really makes my day when I come across new designers I’ve never heard of before through Twitter or spending an hour or so on Etsy.

What is your favourite piece of work you have created?

I interned at a magazine when I was 15. I only wrote one book review and I’m certain back then I felt like a real-life journalist, I was so proud of it. I don’t have a favourite piece of work though, as I publish so much every single day anyway – I guess all five of my magazine editions are something to be extremely proud of.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I honestly can’t tell you who my favourite writer is, I have so many; Grace Dent is somewhere at the top. I follow a lot of female comedians on Twitter who write their own material, that really make my day, such as @albz, @jessicacabot and @jennyandtweets – I suggest everyone should follow these guys, they’ll cheer you up any day!

Have a browse of The Clothes Maiden and The Upcoming. Follow Stef on Twitter: @Clothes_Maiden.

Leave a Reply

