Niki Pilkington

Meet 25-year-old Niki Pilkington.

Niki is based in Wales but is currently in London working for MTV. She also works as a fashion illustrator: ‘I’m going to be exhibiting my work at the Pick Me Up Fair at Somerset House later on this year,’ she says.

Find out more below!

Tell us a bit about yourself…

My work is portrait-based, fashion-focused, colourful, playful – and hopefully nice to look at too. My main influences are colours, shapes, fashion and the people who wear it.

I studied GCSE, A Level and Art Foundation in Wales, then received a first class honours degree in Fashion Promotion and Illustration from Ravensbourne, London.

What are your inspirations?

It may sound obvious, but the person I’m drawing is the biggest inspiration on what I’m drawing. Whether I’m working from found images, or on personal commissions, for me, the most important part of my work is that I portray certain personality traits of the girl that I’m drawing and allow the viewer to get an insight of what she’s all about. I draw these girls because they lure me in for some reason, and I want the person looking at the picture to feel the same way. If you’re going to tell a story, I believe you should tell it right.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

The illustration of the girl holding a paper chain (the background on my twitter page) has to be one of my favorites. It was the start of my 3D illustrations and was the first piece I made in my new studio too, so I’ll always remember that one.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

This is such a difficult question to answer because there are so many wonderful talents out there in illustration right now. Ok so if I had to pick just one, right now, it would have to be Esra Roise. I love how feminine and beautifully consistent her work is.

Visit Niki’s website and blog, and say hello on Twitter: @NikiPilkington.

All images © Niki Pilkington. To view the photographs in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “Niki Pilkington”

Leave a Reply

