Miranda Foxx

Meet illustrator Miranda Foxx.

Miranda’s aim in life is to ‘float by, taking photographs and drawing on top of photocopies.’ She likes the challenges presented by entering creative competitions and collaborations. Her one true love is Soho. ‘I’m a Londoner to the bone,’ she says. ‘The people you meet in Soho, and the knowledge they bestow, is simply incomparable.’

Find out more below.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m currently studying Illustration at the London College of Communication. I’m a bit of a tea connoisseur. I like my teas like my work – dark, a little on the heavy side, not overly complex and not to everyone’s taste (like a Lapsang Souchong or a Russian Caravan). I think I’m meant to be an illustrator but it’s never good to restrict or categorise something. I’d say I’m a collector. I find old film cameras and taxidermy much more interesting than Nicki Minaj and if I had to describe my bedroom, I’d say its comparable to the old cabinet of curiosities idea.

What inspires your work?

I like to document ideas and places like most people and I tend to turn to film photography for that, I prefer old processes, the time consuming, hit and miss ways of creating that makes everyday more satisfying. The cut and paste style of the 80’s punk era undeniably creeps into my practices.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favourite piece of work at this moment (it changes like the weather) is my Candy Pop photography project (left). I usually steer clear of bright colours but was encouraged to go all out and think pink for this project. I think images capture an eery voyeuristic feel with an strong sense of femininity and above all else I enjoyed creating those images. I got up from my desk, dragged my friends to Brighton and everything was done in a different frame of mind in a different location to usual. If you’re ever stuck in a rut thats the most beneficial thing you can do. Get up and go somewhere new.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

The work and processes of Sophie Calle are a deep influence and Kate Breakey is an artist to whom we should all bow down to at her ability to be so elegant and yet macabre.

See more of Miranda’s work here and visit her blog. Tweet her: @MirandaFoxx.

All images Β© Miranda Foxx. To view the photographs in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

