A difficult post to write

This is hopefully the one and only time a post like this will ever appear on TYC but I thought it was necessary to say a few words about J.C. Andrews, who took his own life on Tuesday (14 February).

When I interviewed J.C. for his TYC feature last year, the one thing that struck me was his unfailing commitment to his work. When he initially emailed about being featured, I visited his website. I was struck then by his ability to write: his work was poetic, romantic and neat, his English and grammar as impeccable as his manners.

I cannot even try to claim to know him, but was very much aware of him – he seemed to have a blossoming career ahead of him and a real dedication and passion for his work. Judging by the response on Twitter today, he was surrounded by loving friends, both online and off. His death seems to have come as a massive shock to those surrounding him and I can’t imagine how he must have been feeling.

I challenge you to read his last Tweet without wanting to turn back time and do something, anything, to make him feel differently, whether you knew him or had never even heard of him.

I wish every single one of you a long and happy life. I love you. “…there is something you must always remember. you are braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think. But the most important thing is, even if we’re apart… I’ll always be with you.” Winnie the Pooh

It is very difficult to write this kind of thing. I hope that anyone else who feels lost, or trapped, is able to reach out to someone.

Our thoughts are with J.C.’s family and friends at this most terrible of times.

For those who are interested in attending J.C.’s funeral, details can be found on his Twitter page.

If you are depressed, please, please, please ask for help – the Samaritans are literal life-savers.

One thought on “A difficult post to write”

Leave a Reply

