Fabrizio Mingarelli

Meet 22-year-old photographer Fabrizio Mingarelli.

Fabrizio is currently based in Rome, where he is studying architecture at university. ‘It’s another kind of art,’ he says, ‘and I really love it.’

Photography and architecture aside, Fabrizio’s other passions include reading (‘I always have a good book on my bedside table’), music, film and skateboarding (‘although lately I’ve not been practising so much…’).

Find out more below.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I have taken photographs since I was 14. In the last few years I have started using mainly analogue cameras. I work with a Nikon F65, but a lot of my pictures are shot with a Pentax K1000 and cheap cameras I find elsewhere, too.

What inspires your work?

I’m inspired by a lot of known (and unknown) photographers/artists like Hedi Slimane, Corinne Day, Lina Scheynius, Ryan Mcginley and many others. I like to find inspiration from the people I meet in an ordinary day, too. I like to watch them walking, chattering and whatever else (I’m not a stalker, I promise!)

What is your favourite piece of work you have created?

A lot of the photographs I shoot are favourites, because they remind me of something I’ve done or a particular situation or a special person. But if I have to choose one, it would be this one (left) of Daniela, my best friend. Maybe I love her. 

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

One of my favourite photographers is Corinne Day, her style is brilliant and her use of light really amazes me. Unfortunately she died in 2010 and that was a huge loss for the photography industry. She wasn’t just a fashion photographer (although she worked a lot with magazines like Vogue and i-D and she helped Kate Moss to become who she is now). She was a great portrait photographer, which is different as it’s not so simple to work with people (for me, at least), but everything looks so pure and fascinating in her works. Her images are in praise of people, of youth and human shapes – that’s why I’ve said it’s not only about fashion.

Visit Fabrizio’s website, see more of his work here and Tweet him: @tommibpusher.

All images © Fabrizio Mingarelli. To view the photographs in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

