Jess Bright

Meet Jess Bright, who is currently studying BA Hons Graphic Design at Nottingham Trent University.

When not working, Jess is a self-confessed ‘geek’: ‘I spend far too much time in the cinema and drinking tea!’ she says. She likes taking photographs of anything and everything, ‘but mainly my cat!’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am currently designing promotional material for a variety of clubs in Nottingham. I also volunteer as a designer for Nottinghamshire Wildlife Trust.

I have had my illustrations featured in the 2011 M&S card range as well as designs to be featured in George @ ASDA’s 2012 Autumn/Winter babywear range. I like to keep busy!

What are your inspirations?

Most things that I come across inspire me. Being at uni is a great place for inspiration as very creative people surround me most days. I collect many things that may inspire me in the future. There are so many websites/blogs to get inspiration from such as, Pinterest and Designspiration. Inspiration truly is everywhere!

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I enjoyed my designing my Christmas cards. In an ideal world I would have the means to letterpress them. I think it would be a nice area of work to get into, being festive or drawing for occasions seems like a happy job!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I love the work of Caroline Gardner. I like her designs, as they are quirky and sophisticated also, her use of traditional printing techniques, such as letterpress interpreted in a very modern way. I also love Sanna Annukka. Her work is lovely and graphical style being both simple and complex. It may partly be because I’m a stationary fiend as well!

Read Jess’ blog and see more of her work here; Tweet her, too – @Jess__Bright.

All images © Jess Bright. To view the photographs in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

