Lisa Manfre

Say ‘bonjour’ to French artist and photographer Lisa Manfre.

Lisa suffers from molluscophobia. Er, explain? ‘If I ever see a slug or a snail, I run away and scream like a baby!’ she says. ‘Even writing those two words gives me goosebumps…’

She is also a primary colours ‘freak’ and loves to play the piano when she has the time. Read on!

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I enjoy taking pictures, sewing, painting and making collages! Lately, I’ve also been making a lot of collages and videos. I love animals, books and rainbows…

What are your inspirations?

I’m obsessed with the late 1960s and ’70s. The psychedelic era is my favorite, and I try to recreate what I find and love the most about it. I’m also inspired by music, colors and dreams I have at night!

What is your favorite piece of work you have produced?

It is hard to pick something, as I constantly have second thoughts about my work but I’d choose a photograph I took a few years ago. It’s a multi-exposure picture and it has all these branches crossing each others. I think it kind of represents well who I am.

Who is your favorite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Without a doubt, Stephen Shore. He is just incredible, has his own, unique style. I love him! William Eggleston is also a big inspiration.

Visit Lisa’s blog and website.

All images © Lisa Manfre. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

