Becky Turner

Say hello to graphic designer Becky Turner.

Becky has been a lifeguard for an impressive six years, and also loves ‘experimenting with cooking’ (sounds tasty…).

‘I’m obsessed with charity shops,’ she says. ‘Almost all of my clothes have come from one or another, and I like to alter them, too!’

Read on…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m a Graphic Design graduate from Manchester School of Art and a bit of a typography fiend. I’ve had a few internships since finishing my course, but now I’ve moved back to the lovely Manchester and I’m looking for exciting things to get involved in.

What are you inspirations?

I’m inspired by many different things from a flyer or poster that has a great bit of typography or a really beautifully shot film in the cinema. I also find twitter really inspiring, there is always someone tweeting something interesting, I’m addicted to it.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favourite piece of work is probably a series of Penguin book covers I redesigned. I created them all by hand using different aspects of typography to represent the themes of each book. I love getting hands on and away from the computer. I’m also a bit of a typography geek so a lot of my work revolves around it.

Who is your favourite creative in your chosen field?

I’d say some of my favourite creatives would have to be Seb Lester, Jessica Hische and Marian Bantjes. Seb Lester’s hand drawn type is beautiful and I admire each of their abilities to make typography come to life, within design and on it’s own. I saved up for quite some time for a Seb Lester print, I hope to one day be able to draw half as good as him.

Visit Becky’s website and follow her on Twitter: @beck_turner.

All images © Becky Turner. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

