Craig Hunter

Meet blogger and writer Craig Hunter.

Craig has two claims to fame: ‘I once played knock door run at 10 Downing Street,’ he says, ‘and I also met and spoke to Thom Yorke.’

Find out more below.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m currently an au pair/child minder for three children in Brighton. I have a blog where I share children’s stories and write about things that take my interest.

I wear a knitted red hat (much like Team Zissou) compulsively, and was hit by a drunk driver when I was three.

What are your inspirations?

As well as being a kindergarten teacher in a Steiner school, I’d like to make and sell the children’s stories. My girlfriend and our friend are excellent illustrators and want to do stuff together.

I want to keep writing. I need to get better and more confident. And also procrastinate less.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My favourite story I’ve written so far is about a panda and a deer who live next to each other. I hate it when musicians or what ever say they wrote a song in five minutes but I had one of those moments where I was on a train and wrote it really quickly. I chose a panda and a deer because my girlfriend’s favourite animal is a deer and mine is a panda.

I also liked the interview I did with my friend about depression. We were both honest and wanted to share our experiences.

I hope to do more interviews with friends and other people about their areas of interest or things they want to talk about. Any subject is open.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Joe Dunthorne’s work is just so interesting and enthertaining. I’ve read quite a few books where adolescents have been the
protagonists and his two books Submarine and Wild Abandon are truly excellent.

Roald Dahl is what Coppola is to film. The best.

Maurice Sendak’s Where The Wild Things Are (obviously) is a real inspiration to me. Sometimes to tell a simple story or get an emotion across you have to create a world or an elloborate backdrop, much like Wes Anderson in his films. Self indulgence is not a bad thing.

In terms of journalism – Marina Hyde and Charlie Brooker are truly excellent at being hysterically funny and to the point.

Read some of Craig’s work here and Tweet him: @CraigAlHunter.

Leave a Reply

