Lucy Hurst

Meet 23-year-old fashion designer Lucy Hurst.

If Lucy wasn’t a fashion designer, she’d love to be a burlesque dancer. She loves making jewellery, cross-stitching, knitting and reading (her favourite book is Venus in Furs). ‘I’m also trying to learn how to crochet,’ she says, ‘but that doesn’t seem to be working at the moment…’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I graduated from Liverpool John Moores university last year after studying Fashion Design. As well as the
fashion design, I have also started to experiment with making jewelry and who knows, maybe that could be another career for me.

What are your inspirations?

Burlesque and fetish are a massive inspiration for me, ever since I did a project on Corsetery at college and discovered the divine Dita Von Teese and Bettie Page. I just love the silhouette and glamour that corsets and vintage lingerie reveal I also look at the work of Christian Dior and the world of Art.

What is your favorite piece of work you have produced?

It would probably be a toss up between a corset and a dress I made in my second year at university. The corset was inspired by the work of textile artist Elizabeth Cousens Scot and it was the first time we where really allowed to just go for it and let our imaginations flow. We could decorate it anyway we wanted and the only stipulation was that it had to have a calico base. The dress was inspired by Russian Constructivist art and was an absolute pain to make, it took me and my tutor about a month to work out how to make the pattern but it turned out even better than I could have imagined.

Who is your favorite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I have a real love for the ‘Golden Age of Couture’ and the work of designers such as Christian Dior, Yves Saint Laurent, Balenciaga and Madame Vionete. But I also love the more unusual type of fashion produced by designers such as Elsa Schiaparelli, Alexander Mcqueen, Jean Paul Gaultier, Thierry Mugler and Marjan Pejoski (the swan dress he made for Bjork was just fab).

Visit Lucy’s website here.

Leave a Reply

