Amy Humphreys

Meet Amy Humphreys, founding lady of Amy Allwright Homeware.

When not getting crafty, Amy enjoys cooking (and eating) roast dinners, eating popcorn, going to the theatre, drinking whisky and, er, doing the ironing. ‘Don’t judge me!’ she says. ‘It’s very relaxing – and you can watch a film whilst doing it. Bliss…’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I recently graduated from Loughborough University, where I studied Printed Textiles.

I now live in Loughborough with my husband Paul and since graduating I started making products for my home – I love sewing as well as designing. Once I’d made myself a beautiful pinny, other people started to ask for similar products for themselves. And so I started making homeware products for friends and family. After six months of doing this, I decided to make a go of it and turn what I love doing into a business. I am now developing my own printed fabrics collection, from which I’ll make my products.

My website has just been launched, which was designed by A Dozen Eggs, who were featured on TYC in February.

What are your inspirations?

I’m a sucker for a good musical, costume, film, theatre, stately homes… I love how these things can create an entire atmosphere, warm and cosy/funny and joyful/classy and nostalgic.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I’ve just completed my designs for my first print collection and my favourite design is of town houses in Bath. I love the look of terraced houses and how they can layer up to create a very British looking scene.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Teresa Green was one of my original inspirations for seeing how I could turn what I love doing into my career. I like the integrity of her work and the style of her drawing.

Visit Amy’s website and blog; Tweet her, too – @AmyAllwright.

All designs © Amy Humphreys. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

