Katy Hudson

Say a big hello to illustrator Katy Hudson.

When not illustrating, Katy enjoys tap dancing: ‘I’m an occasional dancer,’ she admits, ‘but I have the time step nailed!’

She’s also going through a rather brilliant ‘cream tea and scones phase’ at the moment (as illustrated on the left!)

Find out more below…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I graduated from Bath Spa University with BA Hons in Graphic Communication Illustration. I’m currently living in Bristol. I’m originally from the North East so the accent is a constant source of amusement for many of my friends here!

I drink lots of tea out of my big oversized mug and like to dunk on average half the packet of cookies into it.

I create my work with inks, paint and sometimes collage and have just been signed with Bright art licensing so have been illustrating a lot greeting card designs of late.

What are your inspirations?

I never get bored of drawing animals all the different textures and the whimsical mannerisms they have. I also collect a lot of children’s books as well as books about the theatre. I love car boot sales and sitting in parks tends to bring out ideas.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

This tends to change depending on my mood. For example, today I quite like my image I did of a bear and duck on a bike I did not so long ago just because I’ve got a soft spot for big bears and think it would be quite nice if they hung out with little ducks now and again!

Who is your favourite creative in your chosen field?

Again this is always changing but some people I never get bored of looking at are David Hockney, Emily Gravett, Valero Doval and Nigel Peake.

Visit Katy’s blog and website, and Tweet her: @KatyHuds.

All images © Katy Hudson. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “Katy Hudson”

Leave a Reply

