Jess John

Meet illustrator Jess John.

Jess likes to make her own equipment: ‘I’m really into the idea of D.I.Y within everything I do,’ she says, ‘from building my own exposure unit and four-colour carousel for screen printing to recently finishing building raised beds for my veg patch’.

Jess recently moved to Cornwall with her partner: ‘I feel like I’m in The Good Life!

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I went to Plymouth University to study Fine Art, which now seems to be a bit of a weird choice as I spend all my time illustrating! However, I guess what I did at uni eventually lead me to do what I am doing now.

I have always been obsessed since a young age with detail in my drawings – over-complicating my lines and adding in extra shade and light to give my work a different dimension. I think this is still evident in my work to-date as well.

What are your inspirations?

This is always changing at the moment. I have always found that things that have inspired me one week will not the next. For me my inspirations is the music I listen to, the friends I hang out with and books I read. I also find just being outside and being in nature looking at flowers and animals to be very inspiring, nature is so beautiful that I wish my work could capture at least 1% of its magnificence.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I’m not sure if I have a favourite in particular but I have recently been trying to create a new body of work based on patterns. Out of that series, I would say my favourite is my Hipster drawing.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I have a few but at the moment I am obsessed with the works of Sam Flores. I love pretty much everything he has done – his style and use of colours is beautiful.

Visit Jess’ website, ‘like’ her on Facebook and Tweet her: @jessjohn_artist.

All images © Jess John. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

