Daphne Christoforou

Meet illustrator and animator Daphne Christoforou.

Daphne loves exercise: ‘I’m a big fan of ashtanga yoga,’ she says. ‘I also love Acroyoga – a mixture of acrobatics and yoga.’

She hopes to one day live in the countryside – ‘I like the silence!’

Read on to find out more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I graduated with a First, a scholarship and three prizes from the University of Brighton in June 2010.

My work has been featured in Computer Arts magazine, Creative Review website, Omikron magazine (Cyprus) and on Cyprus national television. Some of my clients include Management Today magazine, the NHS and Nottingham University.

What inspires your work?

I am really interested in Hindu and Alchemical imagery because of their symbolic nature. The viewer almost needs to ‘decipher’ the image. I think the most interesting art is the one that has a concept, a story behind it and goes beyond being just a beautiful image. I also get a lot of inspiration from Greek mythology and it’s surreal stories. It is very graphic and the myths almost call out to me to draw them! Documentaries about space, physics and nature are another source of inspiration and I always enjoy adding a bit of humor in my work.

What’s your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I don’t have one because every piece is different and they all express different parts of myself. Sometimes I want to create something conceptual and sometimes a piece of work that is just ‘nice’. So I like most of my work for different reasons.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I like Dadu Shin’s illustrations of big creatures surrounded by tiny people, Henrik Drescher’s collages and their narratives, Graham Annable’s amusing ‘Grickle’ comics and animations, Jon Klassen’s evocative illustrations and the amazing colors and textures he uses and Edward Gorey’s dark but funny stories. I also like Johnny Kelly’s witty animations mixing various techniques(stop-motion, hand drawn etc) and Julia Pott’s cute but surreal characters.

View Daphne’s website, blog and Tweet her: @FeelOnDemand.

All images © Daphne Christoforou. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

