Hannah Brown

Meet illustrator Hannah Brown.

Outside of drawing, Hannah likes mismatched crockery, charity shopping, Marmite, watching hundreds of movies (not all at the same time, we presume…) and enjoys listening to audiobooks.

She also loves to bake and is an ‘avid’ pub quizzer – ‘I pride myself on having a lot of useless information!’ she says. ‘I also love tea – as all illustrators tend to for some reason – we obviously all have good taste!’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I graduated from the illustration course at University College Falmouth in 2011. I’m now based back at home in the West Midlands, where I am currently aiming to get my name out in the illustration world as well as working on personal projects.

My work is an eclectic mix of typography, paint and pattern, and more often than not imagery of food – I have a penchant for painting all things edible! My chosen media tends to be dip pen, inks, gouache paint and digital collage.

What are your inspirations?

I’m inspired by lots of different odd things – I adore old Victorian advertising for unusual products that uses heavily embellished type; old fashioned objects that have lots of buttons and dials; afternoon tea; the idea of exaggerated British-ness and its obsession with queuing; National Trust properties; cakes that look too good to eat; floral patterns and well written stories. I love to listen to audiobooks while I work and I keep two scrapbooks to inspire me – one filled with photos and cuttings and another filled just with type from different sources.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

My favourite piece usually changes from week to week! However, at the moment it’s one of my most recent pieces, The Voice of the Lobster. I’ve started to collect copies of Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland (I have 11 so far) and whilst reading one of my acquisitions I came across a nonsense poem about a lobster which inspired the piece. It also gave me a chance to develop my typography skills.

I’m also very fond of the piece I did for our University end-of-year quotes book, based on afternoon tea.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I love so many different kinds of art it’s hard to pick! I adore all Pre-Raphaelite painting (especially Rossetti), and strangely I quite enjoy surrealist drawings.

In regards to illustration I love Graham Rawle’s strange and quirky collages, Kate Forrester’s typographic work (especially the pieces about Marmite!) and I have a lot of love and time for any illustrators that paint pictures of cakes.

Visit Hannah’s blog and website, and Tweet her: @iamhannurr.

All images © Hannah Brown. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

