Martina Giagnacovo

Meet Martina Giagnacovo.

Photographer (‘I don’t consider myself an artist’) Martina lives in Bologna in Italy. When not working, she loves music: ‘I go to a lot of gigs!’ she says. ‘I don’t think my life’s so interesting – I do pretty normal things!’

Read on.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I work in a photography studio, but I’m currently preparing myself to attend an admittance test for an academy of photography.

At the moment, I work with digital cameras, but I also love to work with photographic film too. I have my own darkroom where I like to spend lots of my time; I think it is a relaxing and chilled-out place to be.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I like this question, but it also puts me in trouble… Because I cannot choose! There isn’t just one piece I prefer, since each one of them has its own particular history and a deep meaning to me.

What are your inspirations?

The main inspirations I have, come from Nan Goldin and Luigi Ghirri – there are lots of differences between them but hey are both very important to me.

Who is your favourite creative in your chosen field?

Again, Nan Goldin. What I love about her work is her scarce construction of the scene, her simplicity and casualty through which her real life emerges without being modified. In other words, her real way of putting things into focus.

On the other hand, Ghirri captured me because of his works, made in my homeland. I like his clean technique, which gives me feelings of eternity.

Visit Martina’s website or send her a message.

All images © Martina Giagnacovo. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

