One Year On: Phoebe Kirk

When we spoke to Phoebe Kirk in March last year, she was in the final year of her uni and about to enter the world of freelance illustration.

So what’s changed since then? We caught up with Phoebe to find out.

What’s been happening over the last 12 months?

After finishing my degree in illustration, I exhibited my work at The New Designer’s Exhibit 2011. Shortly after this I had a couple of other shows with my college mates to settle us into the big bad
world of freelancing! I also won a free exhibition slot with Collate Presents where I sold my first piece through a show off my own back.

After several false starts and long periods of no work, I am now currently designing an iPad game for Quirkat, a games developing company who are currently in association with Sony PlayStation.

More humbly than this, I also do artwork for friend’s bands and club nights, which as well as helping out my friends also gets me good coverage, no unselfish deeds! I once did a small amount of work for Amelia’s Magazine for London Fashion Week and quarterly I have a stall in the macabre market run by Frighten Brighton.

What have you learnt?

I’ve learnt not to stress and gripe about where work is coming from and when I don’t feel like drawing for me personally it’s counter productive to force it. It just stresses me out and makes me turn to drink!

If you could hop in a time machine, go back 12 months and give yourself a piece of advice concerning your career, what would it be?

If I could give myself one piece of advice, it wouldn’t be advice so much as a punch round the head and an exasperated, ‘DO SOME BLOODY WORK!’

What has been the highlight? What have you found difficult, career-wise?

The difficulties that I have faced initially have been my own self-worth – whether I believe I’m good enough – and putting a price tag on my own work.

What’s been your favourite piece of work you’ve produced?

My favourite piece of work that I have produced was a poster for my friend’s EP Launch for their band From Afar. It was a relatively tight schedule, but was satisfying to see my work printed around Brighton.

What advice would you give to artists who are just starting out?

Get involved in as many social networking platforms as you can – not to meet clients or talk art all day, but just to know that you’re not the only one feeling low from creative blocks, finding a decent printers that won’t put lines in all your prints, etc. But mainly so you get to take to other creatives in your field but not necessarily about your field! I mainly talk about sausages or zombies, but the topic of conversation is up to you!

Sum up the last 12 months in five words.

Jesus wept, that was hard!

Visit Phoebe’s website and Tweet her: @phoebekirk.

All images © Phoebe Kirk. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

If you were featured on the site a year or so ago and would be interested in doing one of these posts, just give us a shout via email on Twitter – we’d love to hear from you. 

Leave a Reply

