Katie Chappell

Say a big hello to Katie Chappell (and her cat Pooki).

Outside of her creative work, Katie has spent time working with children too, working as an au pair in Venice and The Hague.

‘I don’t really have any hobbies,’ says Katie, ‘unless knitting counts?’ (It does!) ‘And I cycle as much as I can – except if it’s raining, because I’m a bit of a wuss!’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m an illustrator and designer living in Newcastle upon Tyne with a cat (Pooki) and a boy (Jay). I’m in my third year at Sunderland University and I graduate in just two months. Argh!

I also have a foundation degree in Animation – and am a qualified babysitter, too!

What inspires your work?

I’m inspired by most things… but there’s nowt much more inspirational than sitting down to a tidy desk with a hot cup of tea.

I love people watching. People inspire me because they are daft, children inspire me even more because they are the daftest. Oh, and cats.

What is your favourite piece of work you have created?

My favourite piece of work? At the moment I’d say DIY Dad – he was created for a local magazine and I’m proud of how he turned out, given the short deadline.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

I love Mabel Lucie Atwell and Quentin Blake. I was brought up looking at both of their illustrations and I think that comes out a bit in my style now.

Visit Katie’s blog and website and Tweet her, too: @KatieDraws.

All images © Katie Chappell. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

