Vicky Fallon

Meet illustrator and designer Vicky Fallon.

Vicky has danced for 11 years: ‘when I was young I either wanted to be an artist or a ballet dancer!’ she says. ‘I stopped dancing when I turned 16 and went to college to study fashion design.’

Read on to find out about Vicky’s career-enhancing trip to L.A., her love of Instagram and being photographed on the London Eye with Ben de Lisi…

Tell us a bit about yourself… 

Last year I decided to risk everything thing I had, spent every penny to my name on a flight to LA. I worked solidly for three months working for all types of clients and companies, it was then that my brand Vicky Ink. was born!

My career took off after graduating with a fashion degree in 2011 and quickly found myself building up a client list in various aspects from theatre to fashion. I divide my time working from my studio in Northampton, UK and travelling to LA where my international commitments continue to grow.

Over the past couple of years, I have been lucky enough to win a number of awards including a competition with Lypsyl where I won £1,000, met designer Ben de Lisi and spent the day in London with him whilst having my winning design shot by the London Eye!

What are your inspirations?

There is nothing more inspiring than what is happening in other places of the world! My camera and I go everywhere together, I’ll snap pictures of anything I see that gets my creative juices flowing for a new piece. Instagram and Pinterest are great for this. There’s also the everyday items that I keep on my desk for inspiration such as magazines, books and of course the internet.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

My favorite piece of work is usually what I have most recently created! Although, a piece close to my heart is a fashion illustration of Jean-Paul Gualtier’s S/S 2012 collection. This was a real break through piece for me and I felt it was everything I had been striving to achieve in my drawings.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

Oh gosh, I have a new favorite every week! But I would have to say Kelly Smith – her illustrations just blow me away… Every time!

Visit Vicky’s blog and website, and Tweet her: @VickyInk_.

All images © Vicky Fallon. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

