Erica Williams

Meet 24-year-old illustrator Erica Williams.

Minneapolis-based Erica started drawing at the tender age of 14. Outside of her art, she describes herself as a ‘premature cat lady’, and she collects books and stuffed rabbits. ‘I don’t condone hunting,’ she says of her hobby, ‘but I think taxidermy is really interesting.’

Find out more below!

Tell us a bit about yourself…

Although I live in Minneapolis, I originally grew up in Colorado.

I like to explore combining several mediums together in my work. Mostly I work traditionally, but I am also branching out into more digital work right now as well. Pen and ink will probably always be my favorite thing to work with.

What are your inspirations?

I take inspiration from a lot of different places. Music is a big one for me, plants and animals are as well because they are so beautiful and make me smile. But I also take a lot of inspiration from books since I read a lot, and movies with unhappy stories.

What’s your favourite piece of work you produced?

I honestly have no idea. I guess… hmm… I’m going to go with The Undertaker or Last Guardian. Both were a lot of fun to do, there was a lot of repetitious mark making involved in both of them and watching that grow throughout the image with the colors in it was really enjoyable.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

It’s a tie! Arron Horkey and Sam Weber. Both are brilliant in very different ways. Horkey has amazing detail and line work and Sam Weber is a genius with paint. I couldn’t pick one over the other, they are both just fantastic.

Visit Erica’s website and blog, and see more of her work here. Say hello on Twitter, too: @hookieduke.

All images © Erica Williams. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

