Jess Procter

Meet Jess Procter.

Outside of her illustration, Jess loves photography, baking and attempting to sew – ‘I’ve had a bit of a bunting obsession recently!’ She enjoys going to museums and galleries; ‘I adore delving into charity shops looking for old books and goodies,’ she says.

Find out more below.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m an illustrator currently studying at the London College of Communication. I drink a lot of tea when I’m working and love to use my typewriter and make stamps out of lino.

My hobbies include watching sci-fi movies, documentaries, going out with friends. One of my favorite places to go in London is Portobello market on a Saturday; I like to collect small strange objects and you can find just about anything there. There’s always interesting things to look at and buy – recently I bought a bunch of old keys!

What inspires your work?

My inspirations come from old books, fairy tales, nature, castles and finding interesting object.

My work varies from a mixture of paper cutting, collage and photography; I tend to project my work using a light source. My work can be quite dark and usually with a fairy tale twist. I like to make up stories and illustrate them. I’m still discovering my signature style so I am trying to experiment with every kind while at university to discover what truly suits me.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

My current favourite piece of work I’ve done is my rotating burning city, which I built for my recent class exhibition based on the theme ‘electricity’. I designed a cut out city landscape on fire and attached it to a turntable light platform. Using wood, parts of a microwave, a motor and a rubber band. Then I projected the shadows created onto a screen and the wall behind it. You can see it in motion on my Cargo Collective website.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

One of my favourite practitioners is Sue Blackwell, who can create the most amazing paper sculptures from books using nothing but the pages from a book and a scalpel.

Visit Jess’s blog, see more of her work here and Tweet her: @JessProcter1.

All images © Jess Procter. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

