Steven Bullock

Say hello to photographer Steven Bullock.

Based in Manchester, Steven has a love of all things outdoors. ‘I’ve always had a love of the architecture and landscapes around us,’ he says. ‘Maybe it comes from my dad being a joiner and builder.’

His work, therefore, tends to focus on architecture, landscape and still-life compositions. ‘I like to capture the lines and forms of the city and countryside,’ he says, ‘whether they be man-made or natural.’

Read on to find out more.

Tell us a bit about yourself…

From my time at college I gained a love for photography from one of my modules in the course I was doing. I then progressed into a photography degree at The University of Bolton, where I gained my degree and graduated in 2010. Since then, I have continued to further my passion for photography, as well as working as a freelance photographer for photographic studios. I have also worked for local Manchester websites, such as Manchester Fashion Network and the What’s Happening in Manchester City Centre feature.

I am always seeking more work in the photography world to help further my progress.

What are your inspirations?

I get inspired from going to art galleries and seeing the paintings, photographs or any other type of media on show there. I also get inspired from living in the country and seeing the landscapes of the countryside and then the difference between walking around the city centre and seeing the old building mixed with the modern.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I am always rather critical with my work, though I suppose every artist is. Though one of my favourite photos is the one that I took in Swallow Falls in Betws-y-Coed in September 2011. It’s of a waterfall in a part of the Snowdonia National Park. Although I did take photographs of the actual waterfall itself, I just love this photograph of the smaller pools and waterfalls, along with the silky look of the flow of the water – the setting was just gorgeous. Even if I was getting a fair amount of spray on myself from the waterfall!

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

My favourite creative is Andrew Brooks. He photographs a lot of his work in Manchester, but also shoots across the world too. I particularly love his Secret Cities work, where he photographs areas of cities that are hidden away or unknown to the general public. I first saw that selection of work when he exhibited it at the URBIS in Manchester in 2009. The work really captivated me, and the way they were displayed – hung on a light box – really got my creative juices flowing.

Visit Steven’s blog and see more of his work here; Tweet him: @stevenrbullock.

All images © Steven Bullock. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

One thought on “Steven Bullock”

Leave a Reply

