Tanya Hendrie

Meet illustrator Tanya Hendrie.

Tanya – who recently graduated from the Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art and Design with an honours degree in Illustration – describes herself as ‘someone who is interested in love, collections and obsessions’.

Read on to find out more…

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I am planning on staying in Dundee for the near future and am very interested in commissions and collaborations. The work I produce is often a combination of drawing, lithography and silkscreen and I am known to find it difficult to resist a bit of gold embellishment.

What are your inspirations?

I think the thing that I find most inspiring is looking at human interaction and how people communicate and live with each other. I based my honours year project on love – in particularly the honesty/lack of honesty in relationships – and it is a theme that I can see myself working on for a long time. It is such a rich subject that is constantly evolving and changing. I am also fascinated by museum collections and documentation.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

I think my choice has to be the books I recently produced. They are called Together/Apart and looks at the nature of relationships. Together uses text from people talking about their current relationship and Apart reflects on failed relationships. Together/Apart is fully lithograph and silkscreen printed.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

My favourite artists of all time are Toulouse Lautrec and Schiele. I could never get bored of looking at their drawings and paintings! One of my favourite contemporary illustrators is Lizzy Stewart, who produces fantastic drawings and uses narrative in the most wonderful way.

Visit Tanya’s website and blog, and Tweet her: @TanyaHendrie.

All images © Tanya Hendrie. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

