Abby Goodhall

Say a big hello to photographer Abby Goodhall.

Hobbies-wise: ‘do cooking and eating count?’ Abby also loves travelling. ‘I just spent a month in Andalucia and a month in Barcelona, which was great,’ she says. ‘I’m currently amking plans to escape the cold British winter this year, too.’

Abby is passionate in discovering new places and meeting new people: ‘I think most photographers have an interest in anthropology – we’re curious people.’

Tell us a bit about yourself…

I’m a graduate of illustration at the University College Falmouth, but have always had a love affair with photography. It took me quite a long time to come to terms with the fact that photography is what I wanted and saw my future in, and for quite a while I felt like I had wasted three years studying a discipline that I had no desire to follow a career in. I’ve since realised that I am quite lucky to have developed an eye for composition during my studies that I have been able to apply to my photography. Without it, I would be stumped by the technical rules that go with photography. I’ll admit that the technical elements are still a struggle as I only ever shoot film – the only way to learn is to make mistakes.

What inspires your work?

I think its so cliche to say that everyday things inspire me, but it is often the case. Natural light, taking risks and contemporary photography really excite me. I find the journey and documentation of life so raw, so beautiful. That is what I like to capture.

What is your favourite piece of work you have produced?

It’s often so hard to choose an image that you love and that other people will also find interesting. Usually, the images you find interesting tend to be because you have an emotional attachment to that frozen moment. I think one of my favourite images from my current project is of my mum’s old engagement ring surrounded by petals. It pin-points a very difficult time in my life for many reasons.

Who is your favourite ‘creative’ in your chosen field?

There are so many photographers who I admire and respect. In contrast to the belief that photography is dead, it is more exciting than ever and people are producing some incredible work. I’m definitely a female follower – female photographers are so powerful right now. Elinor Carucci, Dana Popa, Laura Hynd and Kerry Mansfield are just a few of my favourites, from a very long list!

Read more about Abby and her work on her blog, Abby In Progress, and Tweet her: @abbygoodhall.

All images © Abby Goodhall. To view the images in clearer detail, click on them.

Leave a Reply

